Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Weak tones between chest and head voice

Hello guys,

I'm from Germany and my greatest hobby is the singing for years now. I'm also studying music at university and have singing lesson in classical singing, that's because it's been a long way changing my technique for singing modern songs...
I have a problem which many singing teachers couldn't help me with and which I'm still struggeling with...:/
It took some time for me to strengthen my mixed voice and my call-register (belting), because I've never learned that before. As I'm a high soprano, the high tones starting from c5 are no real problem to belt anymore, they're very strong. My chest voice's range is about d3-g4 until I have to change into my mixed voice. So there's the problem: from g flat4 to b4 I can't build up a strong voice, the tones are to weak and "airy"... that's really annoying as a lot of songs are having their stress there and also their high tones. I tried everything, some vowels are better than others but they can't enforce themselves... could you please help me? I know these tones are exactly where my chest voice would be too high, my head voice starts but is too low and thin, and where theoretically my mixed voice starts but I just don't know how to practice to make these 4 tones stronger and sounding exactly like the other ones. And that's so annoying, I haven't met anyone yet who could explain it to me correctly, also because all the other tones work in mixed voice, head or chest voice. Is it because it's the passagio and how can I practice to make them sound exactly as strong as the others?
Thank you very much!!
And Ken thank you for all you videos, you really helped me find my voice relating to mixed voice, belting and so on! :)

Many greetings from Bavaria,

Marei

Comments

• Options
    Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    edited September 2020