Home Recording Techniques and Gear

High Dynamic Vocal Tracking Frustration

Hi guys,

I’m just starting out tracking my own vocal using RODE NT1 & Focusrite 2i2. But now I’m really frustrate with a problem, which is high dynamic vocal. At the lowest, I’m peaking at around -35db, and the highest (when I'm belting at high note) is around -10 to -6db.

I tried to track with compression plugin, but it doesn’t seems to help much.

Even though I've compress the sound during mixing, but in order to balance out the volume, I really need to compress the loud part and markup gain the soft part a lot. This brings the loud sound part being squashed too much and does not sound good.

I also tried to back myself a little bit when belting high. Although it does help a bit, but the voice is obviously sound further from the mic, which makes the vocal sound unbalance.

I actually visited a studio and asked the sound engineer. What he has told me was I need to turn up the gain staging nob when singing soft and other way round when belting high, so that the sound wave is more balance and consistence.

What can I do to make make vocal sit on the mix good? Do I really need to play with the gain staging nob during recording? Please suggest me some good ideas for good vocal tracking, especially with high dynamic volume vocal. Thank you

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    edited September 2020
    would be good to hear what you recorded. without hearing it i can say the following (i am also an audio engineer):

as long as it does not clip you don't need to fiddle with the gain during a take. you would set it so that at the highest peak it does not clip. with 24 bit resolution (or more), the soft parts will still have enough distance from the noise floor (i.e. you are able to boost the soft parts later without drowning in noise).