Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

New, excited, and bearing a question!

DiogenesDiogenes 2.0 ENROLLED Posts: 4
Yo! My name is Duane and I'm stoked to start improving my voice. I'm a guitarist first (of 15 years or so) and I've been singing for a while, but I've never really treated voice as a proper craft until recently. I love practicing things in general and love learning better methods. In the past 2 years I've really come to respect the idea of building a proper foundation for anything you wish to be good at. So, here I am.

In the past I always stuck to singing soft indie type stuff because I suppose it's less demanding maybe? I belt sometimes, but I think I lack a good tone and I certainly have bad control when it comes to hitting notes accurately. I'm currently in a rock band and both play guitar and sing. I'm surprised my band lets me sing sometimes, but in this position I feel extra motivation to improve for everyone's sake. We're only as good as the worst of us or something like that! The main singer that has motivated me in this specific realm is Chris Cornell, but of course there are many others. Also, I'm pretty sure I hurt myself attempting to sing Cochise which is something I'd like to avoid :D

Anyway, I'm excited to see where this takes me. One question though: I just started lesson 1 and I'm definitely experiencing discomfort in my abdomen from inhaling and tensing up over and over. Is it a common error for someone to push their stomach out too much when inhaling? Or is this just something I'll adapt to and the discomfort will go away? The specific lesson that caused this was the huffing exercise. I train in mma and I've learned many discomforts only exist early on (I suppose that's true with most things, such as finger pain when learning guitar) but go away after your body adapts. Is this one of those things?

Sorry for the lengthy introduction and thanks for reading if you did!

Comments

• Options