Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Another hoarse problem?

JozzyJozzy 2.0 PRO Posts: 8
edited June 2020 in Vocal Health and Wellness
Hi guys! I'm glad to be part of this awesome community of singers that are training with Ken's course and method!

I've been singing for about three years but I decided to start with the KTVA course just a year ago and the results are truly amazing.
I've been through all volumes practising almost every day and spending a lot of time on understanding the basics. At the same time I'm singing in my hard rock band, testing myself and taking care of my voice trying not to oversing, use glotal compression, vowel modification etc.

I do 3/4 of 7 days a week of all volume 3 exercises (1 hour), I add some mix/head exercises too. No problems in my throat.
I only feel the high larynx position because of the high pitched exercises, but no soar throat or hoarseness.

That said, I want to ask about a little hoarse (i think it is) that I'm experiencing after rehearsals and I think the cause is the lack of a proper warm up, but I'm not sure.

I leave work at 6:00PM and I do 30 min of warm up over volume 3 while driving to the rehearsal place (I don't like to proceed this way but I don't have more time available). Then about 30 minutes preparing the equipment for rehearsal etc.

After that we spend maybe 1 hour and 40 minutes of rehearsal doing high pitched chest voice songs (own songs). At the end there's no soar or pain (great!) but just a little bit of hoarness on my low register. After have finished, I have 30 minutes of vocal rest, and then I do some burbles, tongue and LAH exercises connecting chest with head without any problem, but now I feel this little 'hard sounding' (little hoarse?) on low register, and even talking. After a few hours, when I drink, I feel better and at the very next day I do some burbles and LAH very gentle. After having hydrated me I feel normal again.