Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Questiin on low voices

Some organists at church play hymns with the range of C-C. To me this is just crazy. It is very low. I am a tenor who don't really sing below C3. I reach B2 but it is extremely unpleasant. I can sing hymn wiith the range of F#-F# mych easier tham C-C. I am a beginner so I haven't learned to sing very low.
Why do organist play melodies this low? Do they think that we are all trained singers who can sing very low? Why don't they start with easier keys? Or are all people low voices except for me?

I hate singing together with most people as they choose crazy keys. I should avoid singing with others!

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Everyone has different voices. As for why they do ive no idea, next time you go to service have a chat with them and see what they say?
  • ingentingingenting Member Posts: 23
    edited December 2020
    Wigs said:

Everyone has different voices. As for why they do ive no idea, next time you go to service have a chat with them and see what they say?

They argue that people have low voices. I asked them but I am not sure most people want to sing this low.
    Baritones like to sing in C-C and tenors like F#-F#?
    Or do most tenor actually have very low voices? Or is it just that I am a very high tenor?
    Do tenors really have a low voice? I think most assume that tenors can sing very low without much issues unless I sing a tenor line or sing some notes an octave higher.
  • SkylarSkylar 2.0 ENROLLED Posts: 89
    I don't think it's uncommon to start there to be honest. This may not answer your question, but have you tried asking the people that play why they start there? I wouldn't say C3 is incredibly low, for instance I can sing down to a B2, sometimes an A2 as a girl.

You could tell them it's uncomfortable though, but my assumption is most tenors can still sing down to a C3
    edited December 2020
    Skylar said: