Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS
Options

Fixing Muffled/Muddy Vocals

I need some help trying to figure out and fix why my vocals sound muffled (like I am singing into a pillow or something). Here is an example of what I am talking about:

I've listened to all of Ken's trainings about recording, but I cannot get a clean sound.

Any advice on recording/mixing to get vocals to sound more "professional" (preferable without resorting to doubling/panning, etc.)?

I am new to recording myself singing. I use Presonus Studio One to build my songs. It sounds "OK" in Presonus, but just awful when cut to a high-resolution mp3. Ken talks about getting vocals "forward in the mix", but I don't really know how to do that.

Best Answers

• Options
    jonbouriaquejonbouriaque 2.0 PRO Posts: 23
    Answer ✓
    What you're suggesting is possible, I guess, but the recording sounds ok by itself. I think it's more of a recording/mixing problem than a singing problem (hence the singer/songwriter channel). The recorded track sounds fine by itself, but when added to "the mix" it becomes muffled and muddy.

Any MIXING tips for getting the sound to pop out?
  • Options
    sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    Answer ✓
    Recording technique, it needs to be up in the mix and maybe do a little eq work. Singing thechnique, it sounds really unsupported and sung from your throat and head voice
  • Options
    WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Answer ✓
    I've recently discovered mixing with flat monitors helps alot! I tend to agree with all the above but since you are speaking purely about your mix, you need to turn down the instruments, or turn up your vocals or look at what frequencies are being shared with your vocal and the instruments. Too much of the same frequency can get your vocal lost in the mix, I think that's what @sjonrokz4u might be alluding to regarding eqing. YouTube have heaps of good basic tutorials.
  • Options