Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Questions regarding range

Hi my name is Jessie Walker I am a rock/metal vocalist and I’ve been singing for about 15 years and was primarily focused on screaming/growling style vocals, and pantera style stuff but now at 38 years old I’m starting a new project with a different approach and style, now I believe I’m a baritone and lower singing comes very natural to me but I was trying to develop a higher register style vocal, like rob Halford or even Robert Plant but I’ve noticed in practicing that way it is causing some discomfort in my vocal chords, I can do high screams but actual high tenor type singing is really difficult and uncomfortable, should I avoid singing high like that and stay in the lower range ? I want my voice to last but at 38 years old I’m trying to expand my overall range

Comments

• Options
    Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    edited May 2021
    hi, very good that you ask this question. it is very likely that what you describe as discomfort is causing long term issues with your voice (and not helping with range either in the long run, rather the opposite). not to panic you, but be cautious, you can even damage your voice with levels that don't even cause that much discomfort.
    the correct and safe technique requires practice. it has several factors you need to know about: breath support, hyperglottal compression, vowel modifications, mixed voice, cord closure, to name a few . if you just slam into it without building the proper technique safely, there is a high risk you ruin your voice in the long run. but if you do learn how to do it safely, you can indeed sing in this high range.

Ken's course is actually teaching all of this.