Home SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!

How to warm up your voice before a gig when travelling and time schedules are tight before the show?

Hi, I've been doing KTVA for 3 years (I'm currently on Volume 3) and I know it's ALWAYS best to warm your voice up before singing, ideally by doing the KTV A audio workouts.

In the Volume 1 pdf, Ken says 'always warm up about 1 hour before a show, leaving only 15 - 30 mins before you sing'. This would mean that the warm up lasts 30 - 45 mins, so which workout of which volume should we do before the gig? The audio workouts for Volume 3 take about 1hr 15mins and then we're suppose to rest for 15 - 30 mins. So including setting up equipment, I'd need to arrive at the venue about 2.5 - 3 hours before the show, which is not always practical.

I've done a lot of gigs and often there is not enough time to warm up before the gig. Or there is nowhere in the venue to do the warm ups (many small venues don't even have a dressing room). Often the band will arrive at the venue, set up the equipment, do a soundcheck then it's straight into the show. Or if we arrive early, where can the warm up be done?

How do other singers here get round these problems?

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    I'm not in a band, but if I warm up to record I do volume 2 ( or any of the workouts that aren't taxing) and I remember that it's a warm up not an exercise so I don't push my belting to the max so I save gas for my performance.

As to where, the only thing I can recommend is in your bands car, sitting isn't ideal but is way better than nothing. Even just 15mins is better than nothing. Check out the pre singing warmup video with Jordana in the pro video section of the forum.
  • sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287