Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Recording at home - do you need a pop filter?

Beginner here. I am setting up some basic gear in my basement, just so that I can hear what I actually sound like.
Do you need one of those pop filters that a lot of people use on youtube etc? I don't think I am above average when it comes to plosives.
The microphone is a AKG D5. Maybe not the recommended one for this type of recording, but I constantly drop stuff and they say these can withstand more abuse.
Anyway do you think I will benefit from a pop filter? Is there anything negative that comes with one of those? They cost almost nothing and I am about to order some things from Thomann Germany (I am in Europe) this week.
If people think the benefits are few I will just skip it. I mostly just want to hear what my tone sounds like over a track.

/Nick

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    it's a suitable mic for that type of recording. you won't need the filter for it
  • DogMeatDogMeat 2.0 PRO Posts: 437
    If you hear low pops on your recordings, you might benefit from it
  • sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    If you’re just recording to analyze what you sound like it’s not important. On the other hand it’s a minimal cost
  • INFJINFJ 2.0 PRO Posts: 88
    Thanks everybody! I will proceed without it then. When I have reached a level where I don't stink, then I might consider adding a filter if I hear any low pops on the recordings.
    Good to know that the D5 is suitable!