Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

COVID Recovery

Hello, Unfortunately last week I Came down with the COVID-19 Infection. And though my symptoms have greatly subsided It seems my voice hasn't quite recovered. Producing a sort of "Dark Croaky" sound Rather then a good "Bright" sound. Is this a Matter of simply Recovering and Waiting a while, Or Should I Continue to Practice?

Comments

• LindseyBeanLindseyBean 2.0 PRO Posts: 160
    (I'm not a doctor or medical professional) I'm like 99% sure I got omicron a few weeks ago (everywhere was out of tests so I didn't know for sure) but I took a few weeks off from practicing even after the symptoms (I had mainly stuffy nose and sore throat) went away. Take a week or two off if you can. Then come back and try the simpler workouts to see where you're at.
  • Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    sorry to hear, hope you recover fully soon. be careful and rather have too much rest than too little. any inflammation in the throat, and you should take a rest until it is gone. if you are unsure, treat it as if it is inflamed (=rest).

you could check Ken's advice on singing through a cold (there are videos on YT I believe, and maybe some as part of the course material), and then see if anything applies to you at your own risk, and/or check with a doctor to make sure you are not taking an "unnecessary" break, but i think unless you NEED to do gigs etc, err on the safe side and take a break anyway. get well soon!!!
  • DannyOc3anDannyOc3an 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 668
    edited January 2022