Home The Singer's Lobby

Advice Needed!!!

Hello everyone, I’m looking for some advice on what I should do about my voice teacher. I’ve been working with him for about 4 years now. However it’s the last 2 years that I’ve been consistent with the lessons and consistent with me practicing on my own. Now so far what I got from him is a good understanding in engaging the core for support , an understanding of singing in chest voice and being able to get through almost a whole song. The thing is I still don’t sound good when I’m singing and my goal was to get to a level where it sounds good. So I could start putting my self out there as an Artist. He told me for me to get more ease while singing and having more control of my chest voice. It’s gonna take a year and in order to sound good it’s gonna take more time after a year. when he gave me that answer he was very hesitant in giving me that answer. I don’t know if I should keep working with him cause I don’t want to waist my time. Please help?

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    i suggest you post a sample of your singing here. "don't sound good" could mean a lot of different things. the timeline he gives you is realistic, at least if you were to do Ken's course. in 3-4 years of continuous work, you can gain a good level of control over your voice, and sound like a trained singer rather than an amateur. whether his advice and methods are any good, we don't know.
  • Rosejulien123Rosejulien123 Member Posts: 15
    I recorded an audio and saved it to my iCloud Drive but it won’t let me post it on here. Are we able to post audio files on here?
    I was able to get a link through Dropbox for the audio file. Here it is https://www.dropbox.com/s/gbz3he661ho83q2/LLL.mp3?dl=0

Let me know what you think.