Home Newbies Demo Area - for those who want to test the waters!

Beginner tenor trying "18 & Life" (higher key) - help with correcting mistakes

This section is for non-seasoned people right? I don't want to post among the heavy-hitters. I have little experience of singing actual songs from end to end.

So I recently recorded a full song for the first time I would like to know what went wrong and if there is actually something that is good.
The backing track is the original. I just removed the vocals. I then took it up 1/2 step to fit my comfort zone. In the original key there is a lot of G#4 and I have a bad habit of pulling weight up there and sounding really shouty/screamy. With the A4 I am forced to ditch weight, so that's better. The key itself thins the sound a bit for sure, but I am more interested in the technical aspect of how I can improve the vocals. Keys can always be changed later to accomodate specific situations.
Track is really raw. Only added compression because I found an understandable factory-preset. The vocals sound boring and naked. But then probably it's easier to spot the mistakes.

1. The recording stinks, the mix w/ the playback stinks as well and I have bad equipment and bad microphone behaviour (moving back and forwards a lot). IMO it lacks some low end. Not sure why. High notes also sound much smaller than how I perceive them when I listen live in headphones.
2. English is not my 1st language. I have to work with some vowels.
3. I have problems with the onset. It's hard to find a working tone and the note value to start with. Too much mask at the start? I didn't have time for a 2nd take.
4. Bad consonant approach - T, M, K & P in particular. The sound travels up in the nose area.
5. I could not use direct monitoring, because there is a strange echo when I turn it on. So this was done with internal pitch reference only.