Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Vocal Cracking and Fatigue

Hey Guys,

I have been singing professionally for 20 years. I am now 36. I would like to share some health history on my voice. 

About 2 years ago, I began to get really hoarse for no reason. This would happen even if I was not singing. I would wake up, and be hoarse. I was also having lots of sinus congestion. I started out by visiting an allergist. The doctor did allergy test, and found that I was allergic to all types of grass. I live in Nashville and there is nothing but lush grasses here! So, he put me on a antihistamine and a nasal spray. All of this helped my sinuses, but the hoarseness did not go away. I was then referred to an ENT. The ENT scoped me and found some inflamation and very very small calluses on my vocal cords. He also determined that I had really bad acid reflux. The acid reflux can cause major mucus on the vocal cords and even sinus problems. I am not over weight. I eat right and exercise every day. I do not smoke and I drink very little alcohol. In order to pull off some shows, the ENT put me on a round of prednisone. This helped but who wants to be on steroids? Not me! So, as of now, I take Protonix twice a day to reduce my acid refux, and it works!

So my question is this........ I have been working Volume 1 now for 4 weeks. For the first time since working the program, I have developed the cracking fatigue that I did back when I had inflamed vocal cords and calluses. Could this be over singing? Or, am I just doomed with calluses that are going to always be there? The ENT said they are not really nodes, and if they are, in time and rest they will heal themselves. He also says that calluses can form from decades of singing, even if the singing is performed correctly. Is this true? I'm really worried that my voice is gone forever :(

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Andrew

Comments