Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Some samples from a guy on the fence...but close to jumping over.

Hello, everybody. My real name is Scott, but I figured there are probably a couple Of Scotts on here already, so hence the username. Before I get started, I was wondering if anybody had any before/after samples. I guess these will be my 'before'.
               Now then, I'm a guitarist/ frustrated singer who I think has gotten as far as I can on my own. I was naturally blessed with a wide range, but, in my own opinion not the greatest voice.So despite many people telling me "With a range like that, you should learn how to sing", I wouldn't even TRY for the longest time. When I finally did decide to try, I tried a few other courses, so I'm aware of some of the things Volume 1 covers. I've made some improvement, but singing- especially in the studio- is usually difficult for me. From all the testimonials I read, it does appear that Ken's program is what I've been looking for. I was a little hesitant to provide some samples, but people here seem to actually offer constructive criticism. And I'll warn you, I seem to have a polarizing voice. You know, one that people either like or simply can't stand. I'll start with the most recent song I've been working on. I'm thinking of actually re-composing a melody for the lead vocal. The current vocal pretty much just follows the chord changes in the riff, but I'm singing (well, shouting, really) a major 3rd one octave up. A really odd choice for a metal tune, so it sounds out of key to most peoples ears. I do hit and sustain a B5 at the 2:57 mark. I couldn't do that a year ago, but I can't really use it in any melodic capacity. (And yes, the drum machine is going to be replaced. I just can't stand to play to a click track).
4told  

It does seem like I do better on covers than my own material (probably because I've heard them a lot).