Home Off Topic

Im upset because I only can practice on weekends

reessereesse Enrolled Posts: 159
edited April 2012 in Off Topic
Im upset because Im in college as some of you may know and I can only practice on the weekends. Is that seriously bad for my voice and will it deteriorate or something? I heard Ken say something like this in a webinar that was recorded. I would love Ken to answer this question as well if he is able!! Thanks guys!

Answers

• jayjay Enrolled Posts: 32
    Hi Reesse,

I'm only new to the KTVA programme myself 

Ideally 5-6 days will grow your voice much quicker than 2-3 
    but I'm willing to bet that even if you can only manage 2-3 days, 
    providing your focused and making sure your technique is spot on, 
    then this will benefit you and improve your voice.

The only thing is you might have a bit of "recap" time to catch up on from one session to another.
    I dont know what others will think but my suggestion is even if you cant physically practice maybe even try to use some time to think in your mind the vowel modifications in the correct order both ascending and descending and at least you will be doing the theory part and not go totally cold on the course from one weekend to another :-)

I guess it might take a bit longer to get to the end result but its the right step forward and if you haven't done any vocal training before - then 2 days has to be better off than 0 days :-)

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Hey, Marie,

I'm just wondering if there is perhaps somewhere on the college campus that is not in use that you could go to and maybe sing your heart out, at least until someone comes and runs you off?  Is there a school of music?  Often there are many practice rooms that are mostly soundproof and have a piano in a very small room... those would be ideal.  Or maybe an empty classroom, a locker room, an empty auditorium...?  Any of those would be better than a pillow ;^)