Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hello (and question)!

boomba212boomba212 Volume 1 Posts: 53
edited February 2015 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Hi everyone,

I posted some questions in other threads in the last few days but never introduced myself here, so here goes:

I am a guitarist (been playing for 17 years) wanting to give
singing a try, so I don't have to depend on other people to perform :-),
and just to be a more well-rounded musician overall.  I never sang in choir growing up, never sang in public, and the only thing I've done vocally is take some vocal lessons for a few months a few years ago, although I never practiced at home as the teacher wasn't even into rock at all and gave me boring songs to learn.  (I am into rock, hard rock, and metal.)  I was interested in Ken Tamplin's methods for the reason that he has a strong, powerful rock voice.

I have what I hope is a silly question.  I'm 32, almost 33.  I started playing guitar when I was 15 and feel I am a pretty accomplished guitar player.  At 33, can a person without any real vocal training or even real singing experience like me still be able to START training and developing his vocal chords, physiologically speaking?  There isn't a biological cap on age when it comes to being able to still START to develop your vocal chords, is there?  I'm hoping the answer is no, but I'd love to hear from people who started even later than me, for inspiration.

Thanks!

P.S.-- I've already bought KTVA Volume 1, but haven't really started yet...

Comments

• rcrosierrcrosier Pro Posts: 275