Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Greetings from the Great White North

Hello everyone. My name is Mitch. I'm from a small forestry gone tourist town in Northwestern Ontario. I'm a professional musician with a background in the guitar family and composition. I studied music performance and composition at graduate and post-graduate levels and I am a also a private music instructor. I own/operate a recording studio specializing in music/sound design for film and video game but also record music groups. I run a life insurance business in my end of the province that helps me fund my passion. When I'm not on the road working, in the studio tap dancing to films (foley), or teaching music I am rehearsing and gigging with my cover band The Whitecaps. 

The band is a three piece and I am the lead singer/guitarist. Although I have sang for many years in both popular and classical styles I have never been content with my voice - the tone, range or control of it. I do get compliments all the time but as a professional musician and an accomplished guitar player I am not able to let that fool me - I know my voice leaves a lot to be desired. As there are no vocal teachers in my area that I feel I can trust to lead me in the right direction I am taking a shot in the dark with Mr. Tamplin's course. I have a baritone voice type with chest voice range starting around F#2 (as low as D2-D#2 if I was just woke up :P) and extending in frequency to about F4 and I can comfortably sing in my head voice without falsetto D above middle C. After that I can squeak out up to F# above middle C but it's nothing I would use to perform with at this point.