Home The Singer's Lobby

False Chord Growling + Fry Screaming

seekerseeker Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 83
edited December 2014 in The Singer's Lobby
Alright,so I have been doing false chord growling on and off for 4 years now.
It stressed (doesn't hurt) my voice lots of times but when I warm up properly it just doesn't hurt.
How can you tell if someone is developing vocal nodules/damaging the voice?
Any idea if vocal chord screaming is harmful ? lots of vocalists do it safely (I know I can),I'm still experimenting with warm up techniques to get the best out of it.
I once did it for 3 consecutive hours without any vocal damage :P Yeah ! that's a lot ! hahaha
I truly love this kind of distortion and I plan on getting the best out of it without damaging my voice if possible!

What about Fry screaming ? the mixture of falsetto and glottal compression?
Chester bennington does that kind of screaming along with many vocalists,I saw ken doing it once on a video as well :)

Much appreciated!

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited December 2014

@majdz,

KTVA only recommends the types of distortion that are taught in Volume 3 and in the new Pro Videos.

You should not advance to this until you have worked your way through the growth needed to support this type of singing by completing the volumes without skipping ahead.

You can hurt yourself doing so, and you may already have damaged your cords by some of the methods you are using that you say have not hurt you.  Many singers sing along for about five years feeling like superman, and then suddenly lose it.  End of singing career.

KTVA does not teach fry screaming.  KTVA does not teach False Vocal Fold Screaming.