Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

Newbie to KTVA from Portland Oregon!

Hello there! I am brand new to KTVA as of today.
I am a fairly experienced singer- school and college choirs, jazz and classical, church worship team for a number of years, and three years ago I joined a local rock band as a backup/ harmonies singer.
I've been doing pretty well until recently.
In the last year or so, our lead singer/songwriter has written some pieces intended for me to sing lead on. These tunes range from old school slow country/blues to a more progressive rock style. (All of our music fits in this spectrum somewhere, actually) Then, we recently hit an amateur studio for some recording. 22 tracks, specifically. Listening to these really allowed me to hear my voice in a way I haven't before. I have learned that I lack power, character, and usually tend to get a little pitchy when trying to belt. My vocals are inconsistent, too. Too breathy in some places, and in others, I'm clipping the mic. I wanted so badly to go back and re-record some of the material, but we just can't take any more time on this. So, we had to do some "pitch correction" in a few areas. That's mortifying to me. I practiced a ton before going in to the studio to try to avoid that very thing- often psyching myself out so badly that when I went in I was tense and couldn't perform well. My band mates keep trying to give suggestions. Our lead singer encourages me to listen to some of my favorite powerhouse female vocalists and emulate them. I try to implement everything they are all telling me- but I just can't seem to make it work. I see other bands around town with powerhouse lead female vocalists and I KNOW that I can do it, too. I just have to figure out how.

I needed to do something. We are playing out live once or twice a month and plan to do an extensive album release tour coming this summer. I want to keep my place in my band, but I must get these vox right.