Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Introduction to James

AndrewJamesMcGeheeAndrewJamesMcGehee Enrolled Posts: 17
edited July 2012 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Full Name:  Andrew James McGehee (I go by James)
Hometown:  Jasper, Alabama
Current Home: Nashville, Tennessee
Profession:  Full-time Student 
School:  Belmont University, Nashville, TN
Major:  Commercial Music - Guitar Principle
Started Singing:  Age 5
Started Singing Publicly:  Age 18
Started KTVA:  2 Weeks Ago

Story:  Well, Hey guys! As I've told you above my name is James. My story, I think, is fairly similar to Ken's. I always knew I wanted to do music. Ever since my first Rock concert (Age 6) it was game over, I knew that's what I wanted to do. I wanted to be a "cool music man" as I called it back then. But, I started out as a guitar player when I was about 13. I had sung since I was very young but nothing very good. So i started practicing to be the BEST guitar player I could ever be, and I learned a lot! Later I auditioned to get into Belmont's School of Music (somewhat comparable to Berklee but a step or two down) and I got in! I am the only guitar player from the state of Alabama to be attending the music school and one of only about 15-20 in the nation! But, deep down I knew I would never be the best... Because how can you? Music isn't a competition. It's an art, a language that speaks to anyone of any ethnic descent. Something beautiful that shouldn't be turned into a rat race. So I changed my goals. From then on I just wanted to play music that people could listen and relate. That is when the songwriter in me was born! I wrote my first song, and just because I didn't have someone else to sing it for me, I started singing it. It was a huge hit with my family so I gained a little confidence (after all they are my family they have to tell me its good). But I decided to start performing it in front of some small groups of people: friends, strangers on the beach, etc. Now, I have played my song for almost 500 differe