Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

How do I practice with roommates?

Hi! My name is Zac from Jacksonville, FL and I have been playing guitar for 13 years (24 now) and finally wanted to get into singing. I loved Ken's youtube videos and decided to buy the course. I have roommates that jokingly make fun of my practicing (only on lesson 1) and other times they find it annoying because a lot of the beginning stuff is practicing the "AH" and "EE" sound. So how can I effectively practice when I can't be too loud?

Comments

• MatsyMatsy Pro Posts: 168
    I shut myself away in another room... apparently I am still really loud though haha.

I also have a really big room at work I can head to that has awesome acoustics reverb.

It must have been painful to listen to me at first no doubt, but I have noticed improvements. If it is important to you, you will find a way to get it done. Last night as I was walking along the street, going home from work, I did some singing... no-one was about but even if they were nothing was going to stop me :wink:

I am sure your roommates also have their things that get in the way or maybe a bit annoying so they can deal... it's part of having roomies... you know you have to give and take a bit.
  • DeyanDeyan Pro Posts: 25
    I would tell them that I care about singing. If they don't understand make them understand. Own your space. If they want to study, tell them to go somewhere else. You are the alpha. In the worst case I would find another peaceful place where no one can bother me.
    I hope that helps.
  • Joseph.InJoseph.In Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 11
    Often times I will just sit in my car and have the workouts on my phone which I then play through Bluetooth. Usually no one is around, so I can really practice effectively, you'know, so I don't get kicked out haha.