Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS

"Drowning in Honey" original tune

KaiEllisKaiEllis Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 215
Hi! Round two on this song! Used feedback from a lot of people to re-record and reprogram this song from scratch.

Going for sort of a Goo Goo Dolls meets Neon Trees vibe - alt rock meets synth pop sensibilities.

I'd love feedback on the songwriting and the production! I'm new to everything, so everything about writing and recording a song is a revelation to me.

But if you can, avoid the low hanging fruit of "the vocals are pitchy" LOL You'll just be telling a fat kid who's already spending 3 hours a day at the gym that he needs to lose some weight :wink:

Instead, I'd love to hear about lyrics, melody, EQ, volume, compression, all that. Though if there are technique things you hear I can do better, that would be very helpful! Thank you!

"Drowning in Honey"

Don't know if you heard the news
I want to but can't refuse you
I've said it till now I'm shouting
When you're on my mind I'm drowning

And when the air escapes me
You start calling
I start stalling
I wish it was your fault
But that's just salt

The sweetest thing
That’s on my tongue
And I don't care
If it's just crumbs
The lowest fruit
The loudest drum
My body's clear
My mind is numb
And when you're here
You fill my lungs
I'm drowning in honey

It's hard when you're praised for your style
But what you've been wearing is denial
I'm living off of less than your crumbs
But you've become

The sweetest thing
That’s on my tongue
And I don't care
If it's just crumbs
The lowest fruit
The loudest drum
My body's clear
My mind is numb
And when you're here
You fill my lungs

I'm drowning in honey

Hello you
It's barely me
My emotions need a referee
A hall of mirrors in my head
We're a forest fire that must be fed

Loving you is like a trial
Leaving you has left me in a spiral
Living off of less than crumbs
Never knew that you’d become

The sweetest thing
That’s on my tongue
And I don't care
If it's just crumbs