Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Medical Doctor from Germany started to learn Singing

doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
Hi Folks,

my name is Marco, I am 48 years old and I am a Medical Doctor from Germany. I bought my first album at the age of 7 (I think it was Elvis - Rock'n'Roll) and from there on I was a music enthusiast. My album collection grew with The Beatles, The Stones over Led Zeppelin to Frank Zappa. I learned to play the Trumpet and at the age of 13 I grabbed my mothers guitar. And from there, there was no way back anymore - Music was and is one of the most important things in my life. I played in several bands and had a lot of fun to be on stage.

But to be honest, in the innermost, I actually always wanted to be a singer. But I was not able to sing. My voice sounded crappy, I was not able to hold pitch and what was most frustrating: in my head, when hearing a melody, I heard a second, a third and even a forth or a fifth harmony but my voice was not able to sing the notes. I could just play them on the guitar or the piano. And so I thought I had to realize that I'm just an instrumentalist. Unfortunately, it seemed that I was not gifted with the god given talent to be a Singer.

Years passed by and one day I had a patient who was a professional Opera Singer. She was a very nice woman and I told her that I would like to be a singer, but that I could not sing. She laughed out loud and said "Doctor, anyone can sing. You should learn it." - These sentences hit my heart. A few days later I asked Youtube: "Can anyone sing?" - I think the rest of the journey seems to be similar to yours.