Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Getting Dizzy Doing Warmups

Hi! I’m fairly new to KTVA. Got my DVDs a couple weeks ago and after some days I got the warmups uploaded to my Evernote app so I can practice from my cell phone.

Every day I try to do the warmups but I can’t even make it completely through the first lip drill. About halfway through, I get dizzy and feel like I’m going to black out. Obviously it’s because I’m not used to flooding my brain with that much oxygen but I don’t seem to be getting any further each day without the same thing stopping me.

I’d really appreciate any advice anyone may have as I don’t know if I can keep my motivation up when this keeps happening.

Thank you (also I don’t know how to find any responses people might have to this post)

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,111
    edited December 2018
    I didn't notice this earlier, but for questions that include detailed information, you need to post those in the student sections.

Peace, Tony
  • CarolinaOnMyMindCarolinaOnMyMind 2.0 PRO Posts: 8
    Thanks so much for taking the time to repost this response. All makes sense to my situation except the part about diaphragmatic breathing since that’s what’s causing my dizziness. Believe me, my chest is expanded and my belly pops out when filled with air. I wish there were more basic exercises just working on the diaphragm. It feels like jumping in doing scales with the lip rolling is a little too advanced for the beginner (haha. I know that sounds silly but I have to be honest). Do you think it might be okay to search for the vowel scales exercises and start with those?
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,111
    edited December 2018
  • doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hello @CarolinaOnMyMind,

I am Marco from Germany. My friends call me Doc. I am 5 months on Volume 1.

Do you think it might be okay to search for the vowel scales exercises and start with those?