Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

New Student from Puerto Rico

Hi guys, so glad I finally did this, looking forward to great results.
A little about me, I'm a 41 year old musician, played drums in bands since 1993 and basically lived out of cover gigs for 15 years. Mostly drums, sometimes drums and vocals and sometimes just vocals, but 10 years ago I transitioned from a drummer (still am really) to a guitarist and solo player, mostly acoustic gigs. I've Always had a problem with hoarseness after a gig, even more so after multiple gigs, and eventually it caught up with me. Last year I developed a vocal nodule in my right vocal fold which produced constant hoarseness, loss of register, 24/7 pain, discomfort, difficulty speaking and more. I sang trough that but eventually had to undergo surgery last October. Due to financial reasons I restarted singing about 2 weeks after the surgery and still am gigging 3-5 times a week. Doctor says recovery is going well although I should rest more. Just looking at some of Kens YouTube videos about Diaphragmatic support has helped me out a lot, which I was I decided to get the course. Nice to finally be here and looking forward to sharing my results with you all.

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    Welcome @Xander77!!!!

Make sure you aren't missing the best part of forum, by upgrading your forum access here.

You are definitely are in good company here. There are a lot of older singers here, and I think many understand the need to protect your voice. For us recovery is slow and why recover when you can avoid the problem all together ;)
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354