Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

I Sing Because I'm Happy! :-)

MylaylayMylaylay Pro Posts: 5
edited April 2013 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Hello - I am a new student and I love to learn new things about myself and explore my God-given gifts and talents. I love to sing at home to all of my favorite tunes and I'm usually on pitch (in my high voice). The funny thing is that I just learned about a "high voice" this week after watching a few videos on Youtube! lol Learning about music and singing from a professional in the game feels like a whole new world...new language..terms...everything. I'm excited!

I'm in my early 30's. When I was a kid, I used to always sing the R&B songs on the radio and I even had a little girl group with my sister and cousins lol. We thought we would make it big but we all chose the academic path and forgot about our singing dreams (with the exception of singing in the shower, with the radio, or at our significant others and friends privately lol). Also, we lived by the "you have to be a natural to be good" creed not knowing that practice makes perfect...even for the voice and singing. 

Recently, I've found the desire to express myself musically and share it with family and friends. I sung 2 of my favorite songs "Sister, You've Been On My Mind" from the movie "The Color Purple" and "No One In The World" by Anita Baker. They were both received very well. Most of my family members and friends thought it was "cute" or "really good". The thing is, I know that I can sing even better if I practiced and understood the way my body processes sound, etc. I'm a very fast learner and I'm ready for a new challenge. Plus, if I'm going to continue to sing songs for my loved ones, I want to make sure that I learn how to do it correctly so that I don't injure myself lol. I love to hit the high notes.