Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Buying equipment for the first time

Hello guys!

Hope you are doing great and are keeping yourselves safe.

I have been on the course for a while almost a year and I was wondering if at this point should I buy equipment to record myself and have a better idea of my voice. Currently I only use my phone and do some covers on smule with normal earphones.

If I should what microphones you guys recommend and why?

Thanks in avance and stay safe everyone.

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    I have a rode nt1-a which is nice, and a focus rite Scarlett 6i6. You might find good bundle deals on the focus rite with a 2i2 and nt1 which I think is a good starters basic setup but you need a computer to plug it into. Other than that I've no other experience since that was my first purchase.
  • sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    It would help knowing your budget. Also to add to what wigs said you’ll need a DAW
  • Soul_MateSoul_Mate 2.0 ENROLLED Posts: 47
    Ok I have a pretty good laptop so I can plug the microphones into it. I was planning to spend no more than 250 since it is my first setup and thanks guys
    You’ll want to get a DAW. You’ll have to research what your needs are. I use reaper I think it’s 60$ as wigs said you’ll also need an interface. Any interface in your price range are going to be the same. Same with the mic at this price point they’re all about the same. You can get a handheld like an sm58 or some kind of cheap condenser. Also some cheap condenser mics come with a usb plug with that you won’t need an interface
  • Soul_MateSoul_Mate 2.0 ENROLLED Posts: 47
    Ok I did some research and yeah I know what I have to get know. Thanks guys for the help!
  • MikeStarkMikeStark Member Posts: 3