Homeā€ŗ Newbies Demo Area - for those who want to test the waters!

Endless Rain (X-Japan cover)

Hi Everyone! This is my first time posting a video here. I recorded it for an online project of one of the band members. (It's not my favorite song of X-Japan, though...)

I'm a bit nervous about it, but constructive feedback is always welcome.
I'm not a complete beginner in singing, but I am a complete beginner to KTVA. I think it will help me a lot, since I am still straining my voice when I am belting. (Especially when I am nervous, like in this video.)

Anyway, here is the video, if you're tired of hearing the head voice, you can skip it to 0:58 where I start belting:
https://youtu.be/X8mPzxEi0xo

Btw. I tried to record it with headphones first, but it felt super weird and I started to make mistakes that I usually never make. (I was getting hoarse, which usually never happens.) However, when I listened to it afterwards, the pitch was actually better than the version without headphones.
Does anyone have some advice for me on recording with headphones?

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Well done on posting your first video! I remember how it feels but believe me the nervousness gets less everytime. It's can be difficult to give proper feed back on technique in a song because sometimes there are artistic choices we make that is not necessarily "good" technique so I'm guessing a bit here. An example is how you lose cord closure on the top notes in head voice and go into a pure breath, if it's not intentional then you really need to engage support and cut back your air. This is the same as when you try and belt, controlling the air will stop that sudden volume spike that causes you to lose a bit of your pitch.