Home Recording Techniques and Gear

Mic, Mac & distance

Hello everyone,
I have a Sure SM48 connected to a mixer and the mixer to a MacBook Pro. I've been told I need an audio interface. Is that correct? Will this make any difference? Sometimes, I have issues listening to myself when recording because in some cases, when I listen to my voice in a respectable level, then the recording gets too loud and even saturates. And when I make it to avoid that and record in -20 or -22 in order to be within the boundaries of a clean recording, I can't listen to myself. I am a newbie in this art of recording and the pandemic made me launch this technical aspect so I am learning and any advice will be much helpful and appreciated
On the other hand, I like singind with my Shure SM48 almost touching my lips and some teachers say that is not correct. But sometimes when we see great and famous performers, they do that on stage with these cardioid mics. So, what would be the technical correct way to manage this?
Thank you all, have a great day no matter when you read this, and be safe!

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    edited August 2020
    hi, I already saw your question under Ken's latest video on YT, glad you followed Ken's advice to ask this on the forum :)

how do you have the mixer connected to your mac? and which type of mixer is this? some mixers have built-in interfaces, so you would not need an additional one. once you answered the question about the connection, the leveling question will be easier to answer. are you using headphones or speakers for the monitoring? and which type? and how are they hooked up to your gear, i.e. from which device are they fed?