Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Need help understanding some vocal terminology

So, I'm a noob when it comes to understanding vocal types, and I'm hoping to get some help here.

I've watched a lot of vocal coach reaction videos, and I don't quite understand the following (regarding some of the singers I like to listen to)

- what is a high baritone vs a low tenor?
- what does singing above the break mean?
- can a baritone have a 'high' voice?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Im not full bottle on all the different voice types, but they are I think a German vocal classification system called a fach (pronounced faak). At KTVA we train with the mind set that you can go beyond your classification, either up or down. A high Baritone and low tenor probably have similar range with the Bari slightly lower and tenor higher. Vocal types can also be based on your tessitura, this is the range in which you can most comfortably sing. Again, KTVA will actually help extend your tessitura so you can comfortably sing in a wider range.