Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hi from A Land Down Under

codeowlcodeowl 2.0 PRO Posts: 305
edited March 2021 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Hi All,

I have been reading over the forums for a while and figure it is time to introduce myself.
My name is Scotty (aka codeowl), I am a computer programmer by trade, hence the handle.
I bought the course mid March 2019. I have always wanted to learn how to sing correctly, and in my youth, (am 49 now), I did write a few songs and sing them with some mates, (I play guitar), this was mainly because I really enjoyed singing, and cause we didn’t have a singer and no one else would do it, not because I could sing well, I couldn’t :-). Plus because I wrote the songs the melody was like two notes… :-)
I have always struggled with pitch, and being able to articulate a melody. Like I can sing along with stuff on the radio, and I could try and match the tone, and pitch of the singer and it didn't sound to me to be way off, but if I try and sing without the singer's melody to follow I was lost. I struggled to tell the difference between hitting the note, or hitting a note that harmonizes with the note you are trying to hit. So when the singer wasn't there for the notes I was getting wrong to harmonize with, it sounded like I was all over the place, hitting wrong notes every other time... on account of, I was :-) I was much more comfortable just singing the root notes of chords, but if the melody used other notes from the chord I couldn't pick them.

First Attempt with the Course: