Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Can I really learn to sing on pitch?

Hey guys - I have listened to Ken's YouTube tutorials for some time but before I go in on paying for the course I want some concrete answers on fixing my pitch problem. I cannot sing on pitch. I have been working on it for months and can only just now hum middle C and D. But I cannot hit those notes outside of humming and I can never hit them the first try, I always let a note out and then raise or lower it to match. And that is difficult for me because although I do not think I am tone deaf, I am pretty close. I have played instruments for years so I know a decent amount of music theory.

In short, my question is this: can I actually learn to sing on pitch if I have trouble hearing when I am or am not off?

Best Answers

Answers

• jacobtate24jacobtate24 Member Posts: 2
    Thanks guys, great to hear. Being a musician I know the dedication and practice it takes so I am definitely willing to put in the time.
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    If you are having difficulties discerning pitch, you may want to use a pitch app along with the course that will help you to know when you are sharp, flat, or right on the money. You can try a free 30 day trial of something like Sing and See.

Ken does give a lot of information about pitch, as well as exercises, but you must also train your ears, brain, and voice to work together. The tone you use with your voice makes a big difference, and Ken shows you how to get the right tone. But you will have to work at it, just like learning to tune a guitar without a tuner. It's very similar, except you are the instrument.
  • VocalityVocality 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,601
    @jacobtate24

There's another good exercise you can do you need a pitch app for verifcation.

1. Goto www.tonedear.com website select perfect pitch ( this will be your random note generator)