Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!

Demo Area for the Bold - Critical Feedback for the more Experienced

Comments

• TommyMTommyM Pro Posts: 270
    Hiya folks,

I hadn't submitted anything to the forum for critical review on here when I initially joined as I thought it was more for KTVA students already working on the programme, so my apologies if I'm posting inappropriately or anything.

I've been singing since I was about 14 but stopped for quite a while, only really getting back into professional, paid work in the last year or so. Singing in rock and metal bands for years with a bad technique took its toll on my voice, but fortunately I came across Ken's videos on YouTube and basically started again from scratch as a complete newbie.

Prior to that, I'd started posting some vocal covers on YouTube, so I can already look back at those and hear the difference that even the most basic exercises have brought! I wanted to post a few examples of my voice to get some feedback/criticism from yourselves, so please feel free to be as harsh as you want; I'd much rather that than any pussy-footing around as you guys seem to really know your stuff and I trust your opinions based on what I've read on here so far.

I think I'm naturally a baritone, but I'd be interested to hear your take on it as I think it'd help me focus more on the areas I really need to work on to make the most of my instrument.

Here's my vocal cover of "Ore D'amore" by Fred Bongusto (you might know it better as "The World We Knew" from Sinatra's version, or maybe from Mike Patton's Mondo Cane project).

Another, post-Ken's videos cover I did was "Overkill" by Men at Work. I'd approached this with a much cleaner tone that I'd been using for years and had developed more volume control that I'd ever had, thanks to Ken's YT videos.